* * * Child Care * * *

- Sec. A. EMERGENCY RULEMAKING; CHILD DEVELOPMENT DIVISION

 The Commissioner for Children and Families shall adopt emergency rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to:
- (1) enable the provider of a family child care home to serve more than two families at a time without being subject to regulation by the Child Development Division;
- (2) disregard the days in which a regulated child care provider is closed as a result of COVID-19 from the maximum allowed closure of 15 days annually;
- (3) enable a regulated child care provider to fill any temporary openings in the provider's program, which are the result of COVID-19-related closures, with older children; and
- (4) enable temporary child care programming to take place in a facility that does not meet those Child Development Division's health and safety rules not otherwise mandated under federal law for the purpose of providing additional on-site child care opportunities for parents required to work during a school or child care closure related to COVID-19.

* * * Public Assistance Programs * * *

Sec. B. EMERGENCY RULEMAKING; REACH FIRST, REACH UP, AND REACH
AHEAD

In the event that the Governor declares a state of emergency as a result of COVID-19 pursuant to 20 V.S.A. §§ 9 and 11, a family participating in Reach First, Reach Up, and Reach Ahead Programs that cannot be fulfill its work or education requirements under a

respective program due to a child care, school, or work site closure as a result of the COVID-19 emergency shall be held harmless to the extent allowed under federal law.

Sec. C. EMERGENCY RULEMAKING; WAIVING IN-PERSON MEETINGS FOR

BENEFITS

The Commissioners for Children and Families and of Disabilities, Aging, and

Independent Living shall each adopt emergency rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to

waive all nonessential in-person meetings between Department employees and applicants
or recipients of services or benefits administered by the Department to the extent allowed
under federal law.

Sec. D. EMERGENCY RULEMAKING; CONGREGATE MEALS

The Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living shall adopt emergency rules pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25 to waive any requirements in programs administered by the Department that meals be served in a congregate setting to the extent allowed under federal law.

* * * Drivers' License Renewals * * *

Sec. E. 23 V.S.A. § 610(c) is amended to read:

§ 610. LICENSE CERTIFICATES

* * *

(c) Each license certificate issued to a first-time applicant and each subsequent renewal by that person shall be issued with the photograph or imaged likeness of the licensee included on the certificate. The Commissioner shall determine the locations

where photographic licenses may be issued. A person issued a license under this subsection that contains an imaged likeness may renew his or her license by mail. Except that a renewal by a licensee required to have a photograph or imaged likeness under this subsection must be made in person so that an updated imaged likeness of the person is obtained no less often than once every nine 13 years.

* * *

Sec. F. REPEAL; EXTENDED DRIVERS' LICENSE RENEWAL PERIOD

If the Governor declares a state of emergency in Vermont pursuant to 20 V.S.A. §§ 9 and 11 due to COVID-19, sec. E (license certificates) shall be repealed when the state of emergency ends. If the Governor does not declare a state of emergency in Vermont due to COVID-19, sec. E shall be repealed 180 days after passage.

* * * Effective Dates * * *

Sec. G. EFFECTIVE DATES

This act shall take effect on passage.